The Robin Williams Discussion Revisited

A few weeks ago Robin Williams passed away of an apparent suicide. I thought long and hard about publicly commenting about this on my blog but I felt it needed to be discussed with all the different view points being thrown around.

images (2)

A piece of my heart felt like it was gone when I heard the news about his passing. Like many people my age, I grew up watching his movies and appearances on talk shows. I have countless memories of seeing his movies with my family members or just watching them on television whenever they would come on. Even though a lot of us never actually met him, it somehow felt like he was a part of the family which is why so many of us took it so hard when we heard he was gone.

I was shocked to hear that he was so depressed that he got to the point of wanting to take his own life. But that’s the thing about depression, some people are so good at hiding it that you would never guess it was a problem. I’m not going to pretend to know what he was going through because I’m not a mind reader and I don’t know what was going on in his mind.

I know many people can write it off as him being selfish for not asking for help and deciding to take his own life. If you have this mindset than that’s perfectly fine but at the same time I feel like I can understand how hard it might have been for him to ask for help. Depression has a weird way of making a person feel all alone even when they are surrounded by love and support. I can’t imagine what was going through his head but I can imagine that whatever he was going through was so terrible that he couldn’t take it anymore. I hope people who believe he was being selfish can try to understand that even with all the help in the world that sometimes for a person with depression, it’s just not enough.

images (1)

I wish it would have been enough for him but I’m trying my best to understand why it might not have been. I hope anyone reading this will do the same. The most important thing I can hope for is that Robin’s spirit is at peace now, and that somewhere inside his heart he knew how beloved he was by his fans, friends, and family. Thanks to Netflix I will continue to reminisce and watch all the classic Robin Williams movies I can make time for, including my favorite Flubber.

If you or someone you know is struggling with depression or suicidal thoughts please call 1-800-273-8255, National Suicide Prevention Lifeline (US).

 

Leave a Reply

